Report an Injury

Choose 1 of 4 ways to report an injury.

We recommend reporting online or by phone.

Click here to report an injury online now

If you are unable to report an injury online, call us at 1-800-332-6102 and a Customer Service Specialist will complete the First Report of Injury Form with you over the telephone.

Or download the First Report of Injury form and type in your information. Sign the form and return it to us via fax or mail:

  • Fax: 406-495-5020
  • Mail: Montana State Fund
    P.O.Box 4759
    Helena MT 59604-4759

When should I report an injury or accident?

As the employer, you should report the injury to Montana State Fund as soon as possible when you have been given notice or have knowledge of an employee’s injury. All claims should be reported to Montana State Fund within 24 hours of your notice or knowledge of the injury. Legally, an employer must submit reported claims within six days of being notified about an injury or occupational disease.

Either the employee’s supervisor or designated staff person must fill out a First Report of Injury form with the employee—state law requires it. Be as complete as possible, and sign the form with your employee.

What Information will I need?

Gather as much information as you can about the accident and injury. You’ll also need:

  • Your MSF policy number
  • Injured employee’s first name, middle initial, last name
  • Injured employee’s social security number
  • Injured employee’s date of birth
  • Date and time of the accident or injury
  • A description of the accident or injury
  • Date you were notified of the accident or injury

What other steps should I take?

  • Step 1: Urge your employee to seek proper medical care if necessary. For an emergency, call 911. For non-emergencies, seek medical attention as soon as possible. Send the Medical Status form and First Prescription Fill form, or your Grab and Go kit with your employee if he/she needs to seek a medical care.
  • Step 2: Prepare and file the First Report of Injury Form. Talk to your employee. Discuss the how, when, and where of the accident. We recommend filing the First Report of Injury within 24 hours of a reported accident or injury. Montana state law requires a supervisor or appointed representative to fill out a First Report of Injury form with the employee. Be as complete as possible, and sign the form with your employee. You must submit reported claims to Montana State Fund within six days of being notified about an accident, injury, or occupational disease.
    • Report even minor injuries whether or not medical treatment is sought.
    • Use the Incident Management Checklist to understand the claim process
  • Step 3: Return to Work. Assist your employee with the process of coming back to work as soon as it's medically appropriate. For more information on helping your employee get back to work, review the Guide to Return to Work flowchart, Return to Work Offer letter, and visit www.safemt.com.

What else should you know? Follow these guidelines for an easier claim process.

The employee must report an accident or injury to the employer, employer’s insurer or the Department of Labor and Industry, within 30 days of the date of the accident or injury. Occupational disease claims must be reported to the employer, employer's insurer, or the Department of Labor and Industry, within one year of the date the employee knew or should have known that the condition resulted from an occupational disease. A claim for workers' compensation benefits may be submitted by the employee, or by a personal representative if the employee is unable to submit the claim. Accident or injury claims must be submitted to the insurer within 12 months from the date of the accident.

Have more questions? Contact us.

Phone: 800-332-6102

Fax: 406-495-5020

Mail: Montana State Fund

P.O. Box 4759

Helena, MT 59604-4759

Online Reporting: Securely fill out the First Report of Injury form online.

Paper Reporting: Download the First Report of Injury form and print or type your information. Sign the form and return it to us via fax or mail. Instructions for completing the First Report of Injury form.

Telephone Reporting: Call 800-332-6102 and a customer service specialist will complete the First Report of Injury form with you over the telephone.